Google Shared Drives

Tags faculty staff

Google Shared Drives are shared spaces where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.

Unlike files in My Drive, files in Shared Drive belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done.

Faculty and Staff can request a Shared Drive by calling the Service Desk at 585-385-8016 or submitting a ticket


What are the Shared drives access levels?

Task Manager Content
Manager*
Contributor** Commenter Viewer
View shared drives and files yes yes yes yes yes
Comment on files in shared drive yes yes yes yes X
Make, approve, and reject edits in files yes yes yes X X
Create & upload files, create folders in
shared drives
yes yes yes X X
Add people to specific files in shared drives yes yes yes X X
Move files and folders within a shared drive yes yes X X X
Move files from on shared drive to another
shared drive
yes X X X X
Move shared drive files into the trash yes yes X X X
Permanently delete files in the trash yes X X X X
Restore files from trash (up to 30 days) yes yes yes X X
Add or remove people to or from shared
drives
yes X X X X
Modify shared drive settings yes X X X X
Delete a shared drive yes X X X X

* Default role for new members.

** Contributor access provides read-only access to files in Drive File Stream.  Assign the Content manager access level for user who need to edit Drive File Stream Files.  

Requests for access to files in shared drives — Requests for access to shared drive files go only to the file creator. If the file creator is no longer a member of a shared drive, the request will be sent to the shared drive Managers. 


Add members & set access

When you add new members, they’re given Content Manager access, however you can change change member access.  

To add members & set permissions, you need Manager access:

  1. Sign into your SJFC Google Account, on the left side, click on a Shared Drive.
  2. Right-click on the Shared Drive name and click on +Add Members.
  3. Add names and/or email addresses.
  4. To change the permission from Content manager access, click the Down arrow and select an access.
    • Enter a message (Optional)
    • If you don’t want to send notifications, select Skip sending notifications (Optional) ​​​​
  5. Choose an option:

    • Click Send to send notifications.
    • Click Add if you don't want to send notifications.

Change member access:

To change member permissions, you need Manager access.

  1. Right-click a  the Shared Drive and click on Manage members.
  2. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow and select an access.
  3. Click Done.

Remove members:

To remove members, you need Manager access.

  1. Right- click on Manage members, click the Down arrow, and select Remove member.
  2. Click Done.

Additional information on Shared Drives: Google G Suite Learning Center

Details

Article ID: 53494
Created
Tue 5/8/18 2:38 PM
Modified
Wed 7/24/19 10:14 AM